The Festival

Welcome to the first edition of the Red Lotus • Asian Film Festival Vienna!

In addition to a brilliant film program that celebrates popular Asian cinema as a lively, sparkling mass culture – including a good dose of glamour –, talks with filmmakers and a glittering opening gala offer the opportunity to immerse yourselves in Asian filmmaking to your hearts’ content. With its clear concept and two long-time film festival professionals at the helm, Red Lotus’s first edition will present 13 full-length film programs in four days at the beautiful Stadtkino im Künstlerhaus.

Red Lotus is aimed at people who love Asian cinema as well as those who are new to the continent’s cinematographies. Red Lotus is a showcase of Asian cinema and at the same time a hub for communication with and between the numerous Asian communities in Vienna and beyond. Last but not least, the close cooperation with the local embassies of the respective Asian countries will make a significant contribution to making the festival a place of public encounter and exchange.

In its first year, the festival will present current Asian films, and a well-known personality in Asian cinema will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award. In the years to come, Red Lotus will grow slowly but surely: the program will be expanded, there will be a focus on individual countries as well as tributes to personalities from Asia’s cinematic past and present. The festival is developed step by step in order to let it grow together with the audience.

Have fun, see you at the cinema!

Katja Wiederspahn and Andreas Ungerböck
Festival management

Das Festival

Herzlich willkommen bei der ersten Ausgabe des Red Lotus • Asian Film Festival Vienna! 

Neben einem fulminanten Filmprogramm, das das populäre asiatische Kino als lebendige, funkelnde Massenkultur feiert – eine gehörige Portion Glamour inklusive –, bieten Gespräche mit Filmgästen und eine glanzvolle Eröffnungsgala die Möglichkeit, nach Herzenslust in das asiatische Filmschaffen einzutauchen. Mit seinem klaren Konzept und zwei langjährigen Filmfestival-Profis an der Spitze präsentiert Red Lotus in seiner ersten Ausgabe 13 abendfüllende Filmprogramme an vier Tagen im wunderschönen Stadtkino im Künstlerhaus.

Red Lotus richtet sich an Menschen, die das asiatische Kino lieben, ebenso an all jene, für die die Kinematografien des Kontinents Neuland sind. Red Lotus ist Schaufenster des asiatischen Kinos und zugleich Drehscheibe für die Kommunikation mit und zwischen den zahlreichen asiatischen Communities in Wien und über Wien hinaus. Nicht zuletzt die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Botschaften der jeweiligen asiatischen Länder wird einen wesentlichen Beitrag dazu leisten, das Festival zu einem Ort der öffentlichen Begegnung und des Austauschs zu machen. 

In seinem ersten Jahr präsentiert das Festival aktuelle asiatische Filme, zudem wird eine renommierte Persönlichkeit des asiatischen Kinos mit einem Lifetime Achievement Award ausgezeichnet. In den kommenden Jahren wird Red Lotus langsam, aber sicher expandieren: Das Programm wird erweitert; Schwerpunkte werden auf einzelne Länder gelegt; es wird Hommagen an Persönlichkeiten aus Asiens filmischer Vergangenheit und Gegenwart geben. Das Festival wird Schritt für Schritt entwickelt, um es gemeinsam mit dem Publikum wachsen zu lassen.

Viel Vergnügen, wir sehen uns im Kino!

Katja Wiederspahn und Andreas Ungerböck
Festivalleitung